Shake It Update 4/26/18: Thanks For a Killer RSD! New from Janelle Monae, Dr Dog, Okkervil River, Grouper

Local Concerts, New Arrivals, Shake It Updates -

Shake It Update 4/26/18: Thanks For a Killer RSD! New from Janelle Monae, Dr Dog, Okkervil River, Grouper

Thanks to all of our customers for another killer Record Store Day! Once again with your help, we outdid ourselves, we just hope you had as much fun as we did. Big thanks also to Rhinegeist, Happen Inc., Mr. Dibbs, Animal Crackers, Ben Levin and Arlo McKinley for making the whole day so entertaining. We hope you'll come back again for RSD 2019, and well beyond.

This new, slightly less crazy week brings us new ones from Janelle Monae, Okkervil River, Dr. Dog and Grouper!

And those are just the highlights, so scroll down a bit for our list of this week's new releases and reissues.


The Homecoming festival that The National put together is finally here this weekend! Stop by to see Jim over at Shake It's pop-up shop.


The newest Wussy album What Heaven Is Like is closer than you think! Coming out on May 18th from Shake It (domestic) and Damnably (UK/Europe). Check out their new single 'Gloria' over at Stereogum.


Congratulations to Kendrick Lamar for being the first rapper to win a Pulitzer Prize! And congrats to our hometown paper The Cincinnati Enquirer, who also won a Pulitzer for their excellent coverage of the heroin epidemic.


We urge you to check out Inhailer Radio Cincinnati, an indie pop and rock radio station highlighting the best local and national acts playing our region. If you're still feeling the pangs of missing WNKU, Inhailer should please your ears.

New And Recent Releases...

DMA's - For Now
For Now, the gloriously uplifiting second album from Australian trio DMA's is twelve tracks of beautifully honed, passionately emoted rock 'n roll songs, recorded above their local Sydney pub The Lady Hampshire.

Dr. Dog - Critical Equation
For their tenth album Critical Equation, Dr. Dog wanted to grow out of certain areas in which the band felt they were stuck, leading them to subvert expectations by going dark without providing the sense of relief they have in the past.

Godsmack - When Legends Rise
When Legends Rise is the first new album from Godsmack in four years, on which they double down on their combination of tightly wound riffs, rhythmic fury, naked emotions, and pushed-to-the-edge vocals, all fired up with melodic precision and tight songcraft.

Jean Grae x Quelle Chris - Everything's Fine
Everything's Fine, a new collaboration between rappers Jean Crae and Quelle Chris, is a reflection on being 'fine'; part biting satire, part cognitive behavioral therapy.

Grouper - Grid Of Points
Grid Of Points, the latest from Liz Harris, aka Grouper, is a set of stark songs pairing skeletal piano phrasing with spare, rich burst of vocal harmony. She describes them as "small texts hanging in space," impressions of mortality, melody, and the unseen -- fleeting beauty, interrupted.

Hawthorne Heights - Bad Frequencies
Dayton natives Hawthorne Heights are back with their first full-length album since 2013, still delivering monumental tunes and maintaining their DIY mentality.

Janelle Monae - Dirty Computer
Wildly successful "future soul" singer Janelle Monae's new Dirty Computer bears a clear influence from Prince, who even had a hand in the album's production before passing away.

Van Morrison and Joey DeFrancesco - You're Driving Me Crazy
You're Driving Me Crazy is a new studio collaboration between the legendary Van Morrison and Hammond organist Joey DeFrancesco, featuring interpretations of jazz and blues standards, and a few selections from the Van Morrison songbook.

Willie Nelson - Last Man Standing
Willie Nelson's latest is the first album of all-Willie originals in 22 years! An album that acknowledges the transience of time while marveling at the joy, beauty and surprise the world has to offer, Last Man Standing finds Willie rolling at a creative peak.

Okkervil River - In The Rainbow Rain
On In The Rainbow Rain, Okkervil River makes a startling left turn from their critically- lauded and inward-looking 2016 album Away, crafting an exuberant declaration of hope. It's full of dazzling color, spattered with starbursts of electric guitar, big blooming synths, and a chorus of background vocals.

Scream - NMC17
Southern Lord reissues Scream's 1988 album No More Censorship, prepped for a remix at Dave Grohl's 606 studio and retitled NMC17. Members of Scream, like Grohl, went on to form countless influential acts, including Nirvana and Foo Fighters, Queens Of The Stone Age, and Goatsnake.

Speedy Ortiz - Twerp Voices
"Necessary brattiness" is the motto for Speedy Ortiz's new collection of songs, Twerp Voices, prompted by a tidal wave of voices, no longer silent on the hurt they've endured from society's margins.

Twin Shadow - Caer
Caer, the fourth album from George Lewis Jr.'s project Twin Shadow, serves as a powerful lens through which he explores his own personal sense of falling, as well as what he has observed about a world that feels as if it's declining.

Steve Wynn - Kerosene Man / Steve Wynn - Dazzling Display
The first two solo albums from The Dream Syndicate's Steve Wynn, originally from 1990 and '92, both remastered and expanded with bonus tracks.

Neil Young - Roxy: Tonight's The Night Live
The newest in Neil Young's Archives Series is a long-awaited document: the first public appearance (in 1973) of many of the songs that would be released two years later as the seminal album Tonight's The Night.

And just a reminder that we are always selling tickets to The Woodward Theater, Madison Theatre, and other local events sold through CincyTicket. Just ask for tickets at our front counter.

There is no service charge on tickets when paying with cash. However, there will be an additional charge of $1 per ticket if paying with credit card.