Shake It Update 4/13/18: RSD & Homecoming Fest News; New from John Prine, King Tuff, The Weeknd

Local Concerts, New Arrivals, Record Store Day, Shake It Updates -

Shake It Update 4/13/18: RSD & Homecoming Fest News; New from John Prine, King Tuff, The Weeknd

This week brings us new releases from John Prine, King Tuff, and The Weeknd.


Scroll down a bit for our list of this week's new releases and reissues.


Record Store Day is next Saturday! We expect to see ya here, we will most definitely be here.


The Homecoming festival that The National is putting together is coming up fast! Stop by to see us at Shake It's pop-up shop! We'll have a few tickets to give away in the next week or so, so be sure to keep your eyes on our social media and emails.


The upcoming Wussy album What Heaven Is Like has officially been announced! Coming out on May 18th from Shake It (domestic) and Damnably (UK/Europe). Check out their new single 'Gloria' over at Stereogum.



We urge you to check out Inhailer Radio Cincinnati, an indie pop and rock radio station highlighting the best local and national acts playing our region. If you're still feeling the pangs of missing WNKU, Inhailer should please your ears.

New And Recent Releases...

Brazilian Girls - Let's Make Love
Brazilian Girls return with their first album in ten years on Let's Make Love, bringing a woozy romanticism to several tracks.

Breaking Benjamin - Ember
Ember is the sixth studio effort from multi-platinum rock band Breaking Benjamin, on which they push their sound to its extremes: the softer side is really soft, the heavy side is really heavy.

Sandy Bull - Steel Tears / Endventions & Tributes
The first ever reissue of Steel Tears, guitar pioneer Sandy Bull's self-released album from '66, alongside Endventions & Tributes, four previously unissued tracks that Bull recorded not long before passing away in 2001.

King Tuff - The Other
The latest from King Tuff is no less hooky than previous records, but takes a soulful and cosmic new direction with expansive arrangements and more diverse instrumentation.

Metallica - The $5.98 EP: Garage Days Re-Revisited
Digitally remastered edition of Metallica's 1987 EP that consist entirely of covers of late '70s and early '80s new wave of British heavy metal bands.

Moondoggies - A Love Sleeps Deep
A Love Sleeps Deep, the latest from Washington's Moondoggies, finds singer / guitarist Kevin Murphy at his most pointed as a songwriter.

Naturally 7 - Both Sides Now
The seventh studio album from NYC vocal group Naturally 7 contains their versions of classics spanning over a century, from Anton Dvorak to Adele.

A Place To Bury Strangers - Pinned
Pinned, the latest from A Place To Bury Strangers, who've been pummeling fans for a decade now, is a noisy sound collage that reaches a possibly dangerous volume.

John Prine - The Tree Of Forgiveness
The first album of all original material since 2005's Fair & Square, John Prine's The Tree Of Forgiveness includes ten new songs written by Prine with co-writers Dan Auerbach, Pat McLaughlin, and even Phil Spector. Also featuring special guests Brandi Carlile, Jason Isbell, and Amanda Shires.

Prof - Pookie Baby
The latest album from Prof has the eccentric Minneapolis MC Prof pulling back the curtain to invite the listener to join him for the most private of moments, all with a sleek touch of sophistication.

Josh Rouse - Love In The Modern Age
On Love In The Modern Age, Josh Rouse trades in his acoustic guitar for a synthesizer, creating an infectious collection inspired by '80s pop and new wave and later Leonard Cohen, but still bearing Rouse's distinct fingerprints.

Septic Tank - Rotting Civilisation
Septic Tank (featuring the vocalist and guitarist from Cathedral, and Repulsion's bass player) has been around since the early '90s, but is just now releasing their thrilling rollercoaster ride of a full-length debut, Rotting Civilisation.

Derek Smalls - Smalls Change (Mediations Upon Ageing)
Derek Smalls, bass player of Spinal Tap (actually it's Harry Shearer) announces his return to center stage with the release of his first full length solo venture, a furious contemplation on ageing. Featuring a very long list of guest stars!

Nino Tempo - Purveyor Of Balladry: The Best Of Nino Tempo On Atlantic
Nino Tempo, who played sax for The Wrecking Crew in the '60s and '70s and had a big solo hit in '63 with 'Deep Purple', now releases this new collection centered around his '90s jazz output on Atlantic Records.

The Weeknd - My Dear Melancholy EP
This new six-song EP finds The Weeknd in limbo between the bleary-eyed vibe of his early mixtapes and the bulletproof pop stylings of his last two albums.

New And Recent Vinyl Releases...

Bad Religion - The Gray Race
Newly remastered vinyl reissue of the West Coast punk band's ninth album, originally from 1996.

Graham Coxon - The End Of The F**king World Original Songs And Score
Graham Coxon's original soundtrack debut, for the nihilistic UK TV series.

And just a reminder that we are always selling tickets to The Woodward Theater, Madison Theatre, and other local events sold through CincyTicket. Just ask for tickets at our front counter.

There is no service charge on tickets when paying with cash. However, there will be an additional charge of $1 per ticket if paying with credit card.